Federal Skilled Worker – Language Skills

The Language Skills Factor is one of the six factors for which points are awarded by Canadian Immigration Officers in determining whether a Skilled Worker / Professional applicant will be accepted or refused.

Up to 28 points are awarded under the Language Skills Factor based upon the applicant’s ability to speak Canada’s two official languages.The applicant may indicate either the English or French language as the first or second language for the purpose of being assessed under the Language Skills Factor.

All Skilled Worker (Professional) applicants must include Test d’Evaluation de Français (TEF) or International English Language Testing System (IELTS) results with their application so that points for the language section may be awarded. No other method of indicating linguistic abilities will be accepted.

Through their chosen exam, applicants must demonstrate that they meet or exceed a minimum threshold in all four language abilities (listening, reading, speaking, writing). This threshold is set at Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) 7, which is defined as “adequate intermediate proficiency”. Applicants who score below the CLB threshold are not eligible to apply to the Federal Skilled Worker program at this time.

Credits for Language Skills are awarded on the following basis:

Proficiency Points
1st Language
(English or French) Advanced proficiency (per ability*) 6 points
High intermediate proficiency (per ability*) 5 points
Intermediate proficiency (per ability*) 4 points
Maximum 24 points
2nd Language
(English or French) Intermediate proficiency (per ability*) 4 points
Maximum 4 points
* Listening, reading, speaking, writing

مشاهده این صفحه به زبان پارسی